Nextion Intelligent GPIO to Drive Adafruit MAX31855

Hello All,

I am new to the forums here and would like to know if anyone has any experience with this or not.

I have a NX8048P070_011.
I have the breakout for the GPIO ports.

I am making a thermostat.

I know how to use timers to fire code you want to run and I can get the GPIO ports on the display to fire relay boards and signal led’s.

The issue I am trying to accomplish is to use the GPIO ports directly on the display to pull the temp sensor data from the Adafruit MAX31855. I have seen others use an Arduino but I am trying to do this directly on the display so that there is less hardware to repair and less hardware to “accidentally” get damaged.

Any help would be appreciated as I am a beginner level coder at best.

Hi and welcome @Dichani!

I agree with your attitude of reducing potential failure points. However, in my opinion a dedicated microcontroller would be the better solution. It is much easier to write sensor interfaces in a “real” programming language than on Nextion - and it’s much, much faster. If you want to hear more about this topic, check out this post where I dived into all the details: Touch dragable ring slider? - #13 by Max

In case you really want to do it in Nextion anyways…
Edit: The speed calculations below apply to 48MHz Nextion only (Basic series, Enhanced series excluding 5 and 7 inch). Discovery series (64MHz) shouldn’t bee too far away, but Intelligent (200MHz, different CPU architecture) can’t easily be related to these values

• Nextion doesn’t give you access to the functionalities of it’s microcontroller required for efficient communication with the sensor. Luckily, this sensor seems to have a pretty simple serial interface (basically anything else wouldn’t be possible on Nextion). Nonetheless, you must implement the whole serial interface yourself:
    • Generate a clock signal
    • Read the bit sent each clock cycle into a temporary variable