Serial Communication ESP32 to Nextion

Hi All,

I’ve been using the Nextion screen and ESP combo for a few years now and ran into an issue recently that is really breaking my brain. Hopefully it is something simple and you can set me off on the right path.

Nextion: 4.3 inch intelligent NX4827P043 (I’ve only used the 3.2in basic ones before this issue)
Controller: ESP32-S Develpoment board Ai thinker

I have set up a new project and coded both the esp and nextion using the debugger in the Nextion Editor. Everything was working great until I tried to upload the program to the HMI and use it. I had all the Serial comms going to the screen but nothing coming back. My first thought was that I’d messed something up but after laboriously checking and rechecking and swapping both screens and ESP’s out to confirm it wasn’t a defect I was still left with the same issue. So the one line that has an issue is the Nextion TX to ESP RX. These I have tried connecting with a level shifter, a series diode and directly with no difference in the behaviour.
I then connected the “problem child” communication line to a scope to find that the line is not being pulled all the way to ground. The nextion only seems to pull it to 2.5V. This means the line is varying between 3.3 and 2.5V which obvs never registers as a low on the ESP side. When the line is disconnected from the ESP it behaves normally between 5 and 0V and the exact level of the erroneous low makes me think it’s a voltage divider being created somehow.
Anything else I could check/ change?
Does anyone have a schematic for the nextion TX/RX lines?
Hoping for some insight

Thanks in advance

Hi
Perhaps the gpio that you use are pulled up.
You can try either to introduce a pull down for those gpio, or remove the pull up command or add some resistor for pulling down
Phil

Hi Phil