How to use the Reparse mode

Since there is no help on using the reparse mode I have written a document to try and make it easier to understand how the reparse mode works and how to use the timers as sub programs. It also has a lot of comments and instructions on how to use the nextion language using my inverter code as the example.

Writing code on the Nextion

By writing code on the Nextion instead of another external micro controller you can:

1. Remove the need for the external device
  2. Reduce the load on the external device
  3. Use a smaller cheaper external device
  4. Use the faster more powerful 32 bit micro controller on the Nextion

When I first started my project with the Nextion to make a remote touch screen control for my off grid solar inverters I started by programming an Atmel Mega 1284 with Bascom a compiler for the AVR that uses an easy to use basic like language with built in libraries written in assembler that I have been using for many years I got this working.

After looking at the Nextion’s built in language I decided I would try to make it work solely on the Nextion display , the inverters use RS232 at 2400 baud so with a RS232 level converter I could plug the Nextion into them, not having used the C language before which I have always found to be hard to follow as its not written in plain English (the very reason Basic was invented ) it took me a long time to get going.

I met some road blocks on the way.

• I had to write the code to generate x modem CRC16 as this is what the inverters use.
  • I had to work out how to create sub routines as the Nextion language has none.
  • I had to work out how to use the reparse mode to read the data from the inverters
  • I had to work out how to parse (read and decode) the block of data sent from the inverter.
  • I needed animation

I have done all of this and can now control my inverters with the Nextion.