Global variables

Hello all,

Wow. Glad I found this forum before risking life and limb on Nextion’s forum.

This is my first project and it’s a simple one. Three pages; Local Weather (from a 7021), Forecast (from Accuweather), and Solar (summary of our ranch solar system). The only screen inputs are the three buttons to select the correct page and display the appropriate info from the Arduino.

All of that works fine and I even figured out how to get a background image and “transparent” text boxes using cropped image. Quite pleased. Using Helvetica Bold anti-aliased and it looks quite nice.

Now, my question. On each page in the upper corners I have date on one side and time on the other. In spite of Googling for days, I can’t figure out how to make the date/time text fields global so the info is carried to each page and continue to get date/time updates from the Arduino on that page.

I can send the info to each ..txt during the time the Arduino time updates, but that intuitively seems wrong. I have also tried setting the objnames the same on each page (t4 and t5) and I can send and update all pages with a simpler .txt. That however also seems wrong.

Is there a global solution that would let me update two global text fields (date and time) and have each page read, display and update the text fields from those two globals?

Thanks for your help and advice.

Jim

Hi Jim,

Welcome to the Nextion & TJC unofficial user forum!

How about this? In each button that changes the page, you store the date and time fields into a global placeholder right before changing pages:

globals.date.txt=t0.txt // save current date field
globals.time.txt=t1.txt // save current time field
page 0

Then on each page, define a Preinitialize Event that restores the value of the previous page again:

t0.txt=globals.date.txt  // Restore date
t1.txt=globals.time.txt  // Restore time